Save as Draft

Being a lover of pop music I was excited for the new Katy Perry release but when I listened to it I really had a hard time finding a track I loved. I still play Teenage Dream weekly as it never fails to put me in a good mood but Witness just wasn’t doing it for me. That is until I got to track 13 and then wow, this one spoke to me.

We all have one that got away or one you couldn’t stop thinking about what could have been or one that was no good for you but you found yourself gravitating towards them time and time again until you finally woke up. 

Thankfully one of the many positives of councilling is making you really think about your actions. I remember when my first love dumped me I sent him every loving text he had ever sent me saying he could have them back as I no longer needed them. Teenage heartbroken angst. 

Now I think about my words carefully before I let them leave me. I feel like I’m finally becoming an adult now that I can handle my anger and not explode into DEFCON 1 the moment someone has upset me. Even better is being able to ignore someone when they have hurt me rather than hurling back abuse! One of my favourite quotes that I return to time and time again is;

Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.

Sleeping on what you want to say is such good idea. I’ve saved as draft many times in the last year and then when morning comes…… Deleted that shit and let it go. 

I remember when you used to be my every other thought

But now my calendar’s so full, it’s easier to move on

Sometimes I swear I pass your SUV on Sunset Blvd

I don’t fuck with change, but lately I’ve been flipping coins a lot

I struggle

I juggle

I could just throw a line to you

But I should let sleeping dogs lie ’cause I know better, baby

I write it

Erase it

Repeat it

But what good will it do

To reopen the wound

So I take a deep breath

And I save as draft
You don’t have to subtweet me

My number’s always been the same

But all’s been said and done

Will we ever really close this case?

Yeah, I will always be here for you, but I could no longer stay

Still my body goes in shock every time I hear your name
I struggle

I juggle

I could just throw a line to you

But I should let sleeping dogs lie ’cause I know better, baby

I write it

Erase it

Repeat it

But what good will it do

To reopen the wound

So I take a deep breath

And I save as draft

I’ve heard you’ve done some changing

I’ve been rearranging

Wish that I could know, but I just don’t know

Never get that time back

Fear we’d fall in old traps

Why can’t we just let go

Staring at a fork in the fucking road
I struggle

I juggle

I could just throw a line to you

But I should let sleeping dogs lie ’cause I know better, baby

I write it

Erase it

Repeat it

But what good will it do

To reopen the wound

So I take a deep breath

And I save as draft

Leave a Reply

